*Visit the Zoom registration page to see the timing in your region. Below are a few different time zone conversions.

Location
Session 1
Session 2
Mexico City
7 AM (7 August)
7 AM (7 August)
Brasília
10 AM (17 August)
10 PM (17 August)
London
2 PM (17 August)
2 AM (18 August)
Dubai
5 PM (17 August)
5 AM (18 August)
Singapore
9 PM (17 August)
9 AM (18 August)

With the increasing number of tools like ChatGPT and translation apps made available to the general public, our students are now able to use English to share information with more ease than ever before. But while technology might help students communicate information, it might not be able to help students cultivate relationships, build group rapport and strengthen trust in English. This re-emphasizes the importance that the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages has given to the skills of mediating concepts and mediating communication, i.e. interactional communication focused on having effective conversations and making connections with others in real-life situations. In past webinars, we’ve discussed what mediation entails, and we’ve seen suggestions of how we can tag on mediation activities to our speaking, listening, writing, and reading lessons. We now need to consider how we can teach lessons with mediation skills not just as a sub-aim or an afterthought, but as our main lesson aim. In this webinar, Chia will demo a mediation lesson from Voices from National Geographic Learning, and show how teaching students to mediate concepts and mediate communication can be simple, systematic, and similar to some of the lessons we are used to doing in ELT.

Chia Suan Chong is a writer, communication skills trainer, and teacher trainer. She is the author of Successful International Communication, where she presented her ADAPT model as a framework for dealing with intercultural conflict. Delivering both online and face-to-face training to teachers and learners around the globe, Chia specializes in interactive workshops that encourage reflection for more effective international communication and improved collaboration. Currently based in York, Chia was English Teaching Professional’s award-winning resident blogger between 2012 and 2019. She developed and co-wrote an online teacher training course, has contributed extensively to the British Council Learn English website and holds a DELTA and a Masters in Applied Linguistics and ELT. Chia is a co-author for VOICES, an integrated series by National Geographic Learning for adult learners of English.

Segment: Teaching Adults

Hosted by: National Geographic Learning Global

Category: Mediation, Global Citizenship

Presenter: Chia Suan Chong


Category – Adult Education, Listening

Hosted By – Global

Practical Tips for Improving Listening Outcomes in the English Classroom

Untitled Document
SIGN UP
FOR OUR WEBINARS



SUBSCRIBE
TO OUR BLOG



SHARE
OUR CONTENT
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Segment: Teaching Adults

Hosted by: National Geographic Learning Global

Category: Adult Education, Listening

Presenter: Hugh Dellar

In this practical, classroom-rooted session, we’ll be looking at what makes good listeners good: knowing language, hearing the language you know, and the ability to automatically match meaning to sounds. Using examples from Outcomes, Third Edition, we’ll look at how we can develop these skills through our choice of input, through micro-listening tasks, and more.  

Hugh Dellar is a teacher, teacher trainer, and coursebook writer based in London. He has over twenty-five years of experience in the field and is the co-founder of Lexical Lab. He has co-authored two five-level General English series, Outcomes and Innovations, both published by National Geographic Learning, and one level of the high-school series Perspectives.

Shopping Basket