Category – Academic Days

Bilingual or multi-cultural

Presenter: Xóchitl Arvizu

23 February

*Visit the Zoom registration page to see the timing in your region. Below are a few different time zone conversions.

Location
Session 1
 
Baja, Califorinia
8:30-9:30
 
Sinaloa / Sonora
09:30 – 10:30
 
Central America / Mexico
10:30 – 11:30
 
Colombia / Ecuador / Panama / Peru / Quintana Roo
11:30 – 12:30
 
Bolivia / Dominican Republic / Puerto Rico / Venezuela
12:30 – 13:30
 
 

Learning a language does not have to do with the language itself, but it has to do with the context. Elements such as music, body language, proximity and tradition are part of the socio-cultural elements that influence speakers’ use of the language, paralinguistic features, and our mediation ability. The aim of this session is to revisit fun and dynamic activities that help our students to develop their cultural awareness and impact their communicative ability.

A passionate teacher educator who discovered her teaching vocation at 8. Since 1991, she has taught students at different levels and age-groups but she most enjoys working with teachers. Xóchitl has a Masters Degree in Education from Exeter University and recently completed a Masters Degree in “Ingeniería en Imagen Pública”. She has participated in materials’ evaluation and development as well as directed Curriculum Design projects for many institutions. At present, she is a Team Leader for Speaking examiners for Cambridge Assessment English and has run Consultancy firm Creative Solutions in ELT for 20 years.

Segment: All Hosted by: National Geographic Learning Latin America Category: Academic Days Presenter: Xóchitl Arvizu

Shopping Basket