Promoting Meaningful Communication in the Academic Classroom

Presenters: ANDREW GITZY, LAURA LE DREAN

21 FEBRUARY

*Visit the Zoom registration page to see the timing in your region. Below are a few different time zone conversions.

Location
Session 1
Session 2
Mexico City
8 AM (21 February)
8 PM (21 February)
Brasília
11 AM (21 February)
11 PM (21 February)
London
2 PM (21 February)
2 AM (22 February)
Dubai
6 PM (21 February)
6 AM (22 February)
Singapore
10 PM (21 February)
10 AM (22 February)

Effective communication tasks can help students create a shared intellectual space where they learn more together than they would independently. For genuine collaboration to occur, we have to intentionally incorporate it into the classroom. In this practical session, using examples from Pathways Listening & Speaking, Third Edition, we will discuss how to use multimedia to engage students and explore strategies to structure interactive activities that help students learn to work together productively. 

Andrew Gitzy is a Senior Development Editor at National Geographic Learning. A former teacher, he has worked in ELT publishing for 30 years, during which time he has helped to develop coursebooks, instructor materials, and multimedia products for all levels of language learners. 

Laura Le Dréan is a Publisher at National Geographic Learning, in charge of the academic, adult, and professional development lists. She has an M.A. in TESOL/TEFL from San Francisco State University. She has over 20 years of teaching experience in ESL/EFL programs in the Middle East, Europe, and the United States. She has also done teacher training in the U.S., the Middle East, and in Vietnam.  

Segment: Academic Skills


Hosted by: National Geographic Learning Global


Category: Academic Skills, Listening, Speaking


Presenters: Andrew Gitzy, Laura Le Dreán

Shopping Basket